Home > General Setup > General setup – How to get started?

General setup – How to get started?

Looking back to how I started with the elements of managing my life, I can highlight three major areas that I worked on:

Task Management: Most important was the setup of a reliable system to manage all my to-dos. As I tend to forget a lot of things if I do not write them down, it was quite essential for me to have a system in place that is easy to use and mostly everywhere available. I was also looking for something that makes it easier to prioritize my tasks and that helps me out whenever I am under pressure and do not have the time to organize myself in a proper way. So I just wanted to write everything down without thinking that much about the details of how to organize the tasks. How this system looks like, will be described in “Setting up task management”.

Inbox Processing: A few years ago, I had about 100 – partly unread – emails in my company inbox and my private inbox was even worse. By chance, I listened to David Allen’s book “Getting Things Done®” and started to improve my inbox processing. It was an unbelievable feeling to have an inbox with zero items in it. Today, if I see people’s inboxes with more than 20 emails – or even hundreds of emails – I always ask myself how can they be in control of their tasks and how can they deliver high quality results? Can you tell me? The summary of my procedure is described in “Inbox processing”.

Know yourself: Finally, I rediscovered myself by analyzing my skills and talents, my strengths and weaknesses, as well as how I spent my daytime and I used this information as basis for a better planning of my life. I had some interesting insights and I was able to optimize not only my strategies, but also my daily operations. What I did to discover myself is explained in “Getting to know yourself”.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. Jan 19, 2011 at 7:08 pm

Leave a Reply

